24/7 Crisis Response

Scheer Aims to Present Unified Front in Conservative Shadow Cabinet Shuffle

Three months since winning the Conservative Party of Canada leadership, Andrew Scheer has announced his new Shadow Cabinet, those MPs who will serve as critics to their Liberal counterparts. Scheer faces a tough balancing act heading into the fall session, rewarding those who had supported him in his campaign, while showcasing the key strengths of his leadership opponents in a unified caucus.

Today’s shuffle is significant. This is Scheer’s attempt to put his own stamp on the party and Shadow Cabinet, continuing the rebranding efforts aimed at softening the party’s image while aligning high-performing MPs as critics to Liberal ministers.  To do so, Scheer has shuffled many key portfolios, including Foreign Affairs, International Trade, and Health – portfolios the Prime Minister has also shuffled recently.

Notably, Scheer chose to appoint a number of his leadership rivals to high-profile positions, likely in a deliberate attempt to communicate to the public that the Conservative Party has moved on from the perceived divisions of its leadership campaign. In that regard, Ontario MP Erin O’Toole, who finished third in the race, will take on Foreign Affairs opposite Minister Chrystia Freeland (Trudeau’s lead on NAFTA).

Interestingly, his strongest challenger, Quebec MP Maxime Bernier, has been denied the role of Finance critic, for which he had campaigned publicly. Bernier was named critic for Innovation, Science and Economic Development, opposite Minister Navdeep Bains. Ottawa MP Pierre Poilievre was given the finance critic role; Poilievre has long been vocal on tax issues and will now take on Minister Morneau’s proposed tax changes.

Unsurprisingly, the new Conservative Shadow Cabinet also features a number of caucus members who supported Scheer during his leadership campaign, including Alberta MP Shannon Stubbs (Natural Resources).

Earlier this summer, Scheer also announced changes to the party’s leadership ranks, rewarding some of the MPs who had supported him in his campaign, Alberta MP Chris Warkentin (Deputy House Leader) and British Columbia MP Mark Strahl (Chief Opposition Whip). He also appointed Ontario MP Lisa Raitt, a former leadership opponent, as his Deputy Leader, in a nod to party unity, and mirroring the Trudeau government’s commitment to gender diversity.

Summer Focus

Since his victory in May, Scheer has been focused on developing his political ground game and has spent a large portion of the summer travelling across the country attending many campaign-style events. With the Conservatives still trailing the Liberals in the polls, the party appears focused on familiarizing Canadians with the new Conservative leader, presenting him as a moderate, youthful, and family-focused choice for Canadian voters.

Despite Scheer’s low profile to date, the Conservatives have nonetheless been successful in their fundraising efforts, attracting a substantial amount of new first-time donors over the last quarter.

As the House of Commons returns on September 18, the Conservative Party’s focus will inevitably shift from grassroots politics to the air war typically found in Ottawa following an extended break. The Conservatives have been clear on their intended priorities for the fall session – and the key areas of focus for the new Shadow Cabinet will be on economic issues such as the proposed liberal tax changes.

Scheer, Andrew (Regina — Qu'Appelle) Leader of the Official Opposition
Raitt, Hon. Lisa (Milton) Deputy Leader
Rayes, Alain (Richmond — Arthabaska) Quebec Political Lieutenant
Bergen, Hon. Candice (Portage — Lisgar) House Leader of the Official Opposition
Strahl, Mark (Chilliwack – Hope) Chief Opposition Whip
Warkentin, Chris (Grande Prairie — Mackenzie) Deputy Opposition House Leader and Question Period Coordinator
Brassard, John (Barrie – Innisfil) Deputy Opposition Whip
Finley, Hon. Diane (Haldimand-Norfolk) Caucus-Party Liaison


Aboultaif, Ziad (Edmonton Manning) International Development
Albas, Dan (Central Okanagan — Similkameen — Nicola) Small Business
Allison, Dean (Niagara West) International Trade
Barlow, John (Foothills) Agriculture and Agri-Food (Associate)
Bernier, Hon. Maxime (Beauce) Innovation, Science and Economic Development
Berthold, Luc (Mégantic — L'Érable) Agriculture and Agri-Food
Bezan, James (Selkirk — Interlake — Eastman) National Defence
Blaney, Hon. Steven (Bellechasse — Les Etchemins — Lévis) Veterans Affairs
Block, Kelly (Carlton Trail — Eagle Creek) Transport
Chong, Hon. Michael (Wellington — Halton Hills) Infrastructure, Communities and Urban Affairs
Clement, Hon. Tony (Parry Sound — Muskoka) Public Services and Procurement
Deltell, Gérard (Louis-Saint-Laurent) Treasury Board
Doherty, Todd (Cariboo — Prince George) Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard, and the Asia-Pacific Gateway
Fast, Hon. Ed (Abbotsford) Environment and Climate Change
Gladu, Marilyn (Sarnia Lambton) Health
Harder, Rachael (Lethbridge) Status of Women
Jeneroux, Matt (Edmonton Riverbend) Science
Kelly, Pat (Calgary Rocky Ridge) National Revenue
Kent, Hon. Peter (Thornhill) Ethics
McLeod, Cathy (Kamloops — Thompson — Cariboo) Crown-Indigenous and Northern Affairs, Indigenous Services and the Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency
Moore, Hon. Rob Atlantic Issues and the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency
Nicholson, Hon. Rob (Niagara Falls) Justice
Nuttall, Alexander (Barrie — Springwater — Oro-Medonte) Youth, Sport and Persons with Disabilities
O’Toole, Hon. Erin (Durham) Foreign Affairs
Paul-Hus, Pierre (Charlesbourg — Haute-Saint-Charles) Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness
Poilievre, Hon. Pierre (Carleton) Finance and National Capital Commission
Rayes, Alain (Richmond — Arthabaska) Intergovernmental Affairs
Reid, Scott (Lanark — Frontenac — Kingston) Democratic Institutions
Rempel, Hon. Michelle (Calgary Nose Hill) Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship
Saroya, Bob (Markham — Unionville) Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship (Associate)
Stubbs, Shannon (Lakeland) Natural Resources
Van Loan, Hon. Peter (York-Simcoe) Canadian Heritage and National Historic Sites
Vecchio, Karen (Elgin — Middlesex — London) Families, Children and Social Development
Watts, Dianne (South Surrey — White Rock) Employment, Workforce Development and Labour



Get Updates

Sign up to receive newsletters, communications, reports and updates.
Privacy Policy


145 King Street East
2nd Floor
Toronto, ON M5C 2Y7

(T) 416-864-7112
(F) 416-864-7117


100 rue Queen Street
Suite 850
Ottawa, ON K1P 1J9

(T) 613-231-2630
(F) 613-231-4113